86 4runner swap

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

frappe225

i am new to all this but i am wanting to get a V8 for my car and i want to know how much it will cost before i go and buy the engine. i have a 2.4l diesel, with all stock engine, trans and suspension. will i need to upgrade my gearbox and transfer case or will it handle the extra power? will i need to upgrade the suspension? what would you suggest?

also i live in western australia, is there anyone here who has done this swap successfully or had any major dramas or knows a good cheap place to get it done as i am only 18yo.

thanks,

Alastair.

cheap dont make me laugh hehehe

not many conversions are cheap these days

problem with the 2.4 diesel is if its same as the surf they have a seperate ecu that does the 4wd and the auto all in one

i am in process of trying to get the lexus v8 ecu to talk to the surf auto ecu so it changes down gears but not having much luck

this might be one problem

the other is theres abit of work getitng yr transfer to run behind the v8 auto

so theres good and bad things whichever way u go

but unless u have up to 10grand if u plan to pay someone to do everyhting drive in drive out style

i would not bother

We should have an early hilux in the shop ready for this conversion. (i've been away for a week) We have done heaps of 1uz swaps and have done a few early (pre1990) hilux. This one is going to be a bush truck. I will check with the customer and see if I am able to share photos. We always check before using them - cheers

thanks for the links but they are all for the 2nd gen 4runners which are different to 1st gen also the 4runner and surf look the same but that is it there are very few similarities between them also i have a manual so the auto problems should not effect me.

keep the advice coming

alastair

I was looking into this swap for my 88 Runner. It is not for the light hearted.