Speedometer Swap on 1989/90 Celsior

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

VSG12777

Hi everyone. My name is Venkat and I am from Melbourne, Australia. I joined this forum just today. I am a fulltime student here and I am looking forward to buying my 1st car soon.

I plan to get a 1989/90 model Celsior C-type F-package model, which is the top of the line one (with the rear massaging seats etc).

I saw a Celsior today and it appears to have a 180kmph speedometer since it was a Japanese market model - most Japanese market models have a 180kmph speedometer and I have observed this.

Since the Celsior and LS400 are essentially the same car and the Australian 1990 LS400 has a 260kmph speedometer, is it possible to install the LS400's speedometer in the Celsior ? If so, where can I have this done and approximately how much would it cost ?

Is it alright to have a normal garage/service station do it for me instead of going to a Lexus dealership, where I may be ripped off ?

I look forward to any help on this !! Thanks !!:veryhappy

Regards,
Venkat

well... you might be able to do this, there are only a few things to consider.

1.) you will have to replace the whole spedo/tach/ect combination cluster
2.) this means odometer too, it will be better to swap it with one that has the same amount of miles/kilometers on the clock
3.) the donor car will probably have to have the same amount of options, at least the ones that show up on the cluster, im not 100% sure on this though, im just saying to be on the safe side. you wont want to buy a cluster and have the plugs be different.

if your really tech savy you could disasember the cluster, and replace the face of the cluster with the one you want, 260 kph one (once cluster is apart its easy to take out), and probably the spedo needle as well from the 260 kph cluster.

Hopefully someone else can chime in on this and give you absolute answers.

Nick

being a *** import car alot of people wont touch it