Newbie here

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Siddley

Hi folks. I live in the UK and have recently bought an MOT failure LS400.
I'm going to use the engine and possibly the autobox as the basis of my next project, which will be a home built space frame car.
I'm right at the start of the design process, and I'll post a thread later in the drivetrain section asking about my options for transmissions because I don't even know whether to go with front or mid engine layout yet.

I haven't ever built a car from scratch before, but I've got a pretty OK level of engineering knowledge and have a small machine shop.

I've still got my current car to finish as well - that's a Peugeot 205Gti with a GTi6 engine.

Cheers :burnout:

Welcome to Lextreme. You have come to the right place.

I am not familiar with MOB. Please clarify.

What year is the LS400?

Post pictures of your Peugeot as well as progress pics on your build.

Hi :)

The MOT is an annual vehicle inspection for cars over 3 years old here in the UK. The LS400 failed on the emissions part of the test, probably related to the exhaust system which was blowing. It's a 1995 and has done just over 200,000 miles. I paid the equivalent of 200 USD for it.

I'm a big fan of 60's and 70's GT racing cars and prototypes. Stuff like Lola T70's, Porsche 917's, 908's, the GT40 etc. Building a replica of one of those is outside my means so I'm hoping to create something which has a similar look to it.
It'll have to be a Spyder configuration to simplify the bodywork ( no need for a massively curved windscreen ) and I'm currently agonising over the drivetrain layout. I don't think it will be possible to acheive the look I want with a front mounted engine, but a transaxle conversion will eat a good chunk of my budget.

$200 USD!!! What would it be worth in the UK if it passed?