Basic install; wiring and ECU

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Alley Kat

Hi all, this is my first post beyond an intro. I want to install a 1UZ, and add turbo(s) probably as a second-stage in the evolution of the car.
So I'm researching aftermarket ECU's, thinking to go that way from the start. Looking into Link, Megasquirt, possibly Emerald.

I'm new to efi however. So the basic question is: am I biting off more than I can chew... a mate asked an electrics guru (this guy does troubleshooting for a car manufacturer), he's spooked me by saying it could be a nightmare to wire, needs a Toyota expert, there'll be ABS sensors, could be 4 exhaust sensors per bank, etc etc.
But it seems there's more than a few installs going on with aftermarket ecu's, but most if not all by experience guys. So as a newb is it going to be impossibly difficult to hook up? Whaddya think,

Cheers,
Bill

Custom built pro-street style full chassis with cage. Wiring and everything else from scratch. May use one of the generic looms as a starting point for the wiring.

The wiring isn't really what scares me about a standalone ECU, it's the tuning.

I can run wire all day, but tune something with so little experience, I don't think so.

Tuning would be farmed out, choice of ecu partly depends on local expertise. Also thinking doing that could help to iron out install bugs.
What worries me is the wiring, reading stuff like 'Toyota sensors don't work or are flakey with aftermarket systems' ...

Personally, I wouldn't have ABS on the car. If it's being modified enough that I need an aftermarket ECU, I probably shouldn't drive it in the rain or snow. I'm pretty sure that your aftermarket ECU can get away with 1 (at a collector) or 2 (1 per bank) O2 sensors. You're probably going to have to do something special with the gauges (ie: mechanical gauges) or have an ECU that can program, or be programmed by them.