Newby with a properly silly question

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

MiLo

Hello All,

I'm new to the UZ engines, but have settled on using one for a swap into my MGB. (250+ bhp in a 2000 lb car? I think so!) Now for the silly question. I have to get said MGB from the west coast of British Columbia to east-central Missouri, and renting a Uhaul truck costs the proverbial arm and leg. So, If a hitch were fitted, could an SC400, haul the MGB over that distance?

I'm sure the engine is strong enough, but how about the transmission, drive train, brakes, and rear suspension? The Uhaul car hauler trailers have had a fairly neutral balance when I've used them before.

Thanks,

MiLo

Hello All,

I'm new to the UZ engines, but have settled on using one for a swap into my MGB. (250+ bhp in a 2000 lb car? I think so!) Now for the silly question. I have to get said MGB from the west coast of British Columbia to east-central Missouri, and renting a Uhaul truck costs the proverbial arm and leg. So, If a hitch were fitted, could an SC400, haul the MGB over that distance?

I'm sure the engine is strong enough, but how about the transmission, drive train, brakes, and rear suspension? The Uhaul car hauler trailers have had a fairly neutral balance when I've used them before.

Thanks,

MiLo

disconnect driveshaft on mgb and flat-tow (tow bar) and you shouldnt have a problem

It will do it easy !!! Take it easy ..
If auto etc is in good condition to start with..
A service before any long trip helps big time
if it hasn't been done recently...
A few extra Lb in your tyres ..
We towed horse floats all over NZ often with two
horses and gear etc..
I was assumimg you hired a car trailer ??
Good question not silly...

Thanks! I'll definitely be hiring a trailer, and the tow bar is a good idea. It would certainly weigh and cost less than the "car hauler" and wouldn't place the same weight on the tow vehicle.