Lexus V8 Hot Rod

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

curbo

Dear Guys
I am about to start my chassis on a one off Hot Rod here in ENGLAND and want to use a Lexus V8 with its Autobox, standard at first but with some nice mid tuning at a later date, could you please advise which V8 to go for and how are they identified. We have 1990-1992 LS400 complete cars with 100000 miles on for not much money what would the pros and cons of this one or would a later version be better or even the LS430,s
Cheers Curbo

I'm not an expert but I'll give you my crappy answer, I'm guessing they are all good. However thinking in a Hot Rod style, you'll want to get the whole wiring harness complete. This will get you up and running. The earlier engines would probably be better suited to hotting up if you plan to get rid of the standard ECU. As any rodding project, keeping it simple will do you best in the long run if your not an expert tuner.

I'd stick with a 1UZ and not get the VVTI engine as for me this is too complicated.

Good luck with it, there are lots of Rods in Australia running the 1UZ, Check out 1UZ-HZ on this forum, although not a hot rod but a HZ Holden from the 60's. The build would be similer.

Nath

I'm building a 6/71 Roots Blown 1UZ-FE for a custom Reliant kitten I imported last year. The little pic next to my username is the mock up. Search this site or my posts to see some pics of my engine etc.

I love hot rods and really should be building one instead of this crazy little drag car but hey stupid decisions are my speciality.

I am unfamiler with the gearboxes for these engines, I'm using a Chevy powerglide auto. I guess others will be able to help you out with models etc but you should get lots of positive people here rather than people saying "you want to do what?"

Cheers Nath