fabbing 1uz turbo manifold questions

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

AutoLuxLexES

Hello all,
got myself a 92 sc400, that needs some engine work. i figured since it is out, why not throw a turbo on. This will be my first FI vehicle, so bear with me. I find myself fairly crafty, so i think this would be fun, but i need some answers before i just start buying:

1. When designing the manifold, can i use the OEM manifold flanges, and just cut off the primary runners? where does everyone else source their 1uzfe manifold flanges from?

2. as for the material of the actual piping, i saw that redphoenix listed a website of acestainless.com, found the 90° piping, but am unsure if i should use s/10 mild steel, s/10 304l, or s/10 316l?

3. Would a single ct26 be a good starting turbo? for say 3-400 hp?

I am new to this, and have been researching a lot and will continue, just need some help to get me going.

Thanks
Charley

Hey Charley,

there is a cad file floating around the forums for the exhuast flange,

that is what i used.

I also used mild steel steam pipe for my manifold's
S40 bends 38NB, heavy but durable
they come in different bends and are very easy to work with, i sugest dipping them in paint stripper 1st tho, the protective coating is an abosolute swine to remove with a grinder or sander and if you happen to have any left it makes welding a PITA

Im not sure a single CT26 would work, a tad small i think. they are used on standard
7MGTE's which are only a 3L so it would spool fast but be quite restrictive in the higher RPM

two CT26's would posible work ok, may be a bit laggy tho.

Daniel.

Where is the file at? I have been searching all sorts of keywords and have not come up with this file. Thanks for the tip on the piping, yes, welding without removing paint makes it difficult to weld, so i could imagine about the protective coating to be the same.