VVTL-i How it works

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

928s

Hi to all, for those of you who haven't seen it, here's a great link to how the system works. http://www.billzilla.org/vvtvtec3.htm.

While I have never programmed one of these before, the method of how it works seems straight forward enough. If you were to modify one of these I would suggest that only the high speed lobe needs the mod. Also having the duration spec for the other 100 hp per liter Toyota engines helps in finding a suitable cam profile. The lift and duration figures are given for one of those 100 + hp engines, does anybody have the cam timing figures from the 3uz fe engine? That would be really interesting. I would guess the camming is very small.

Also how hard is it to get to 4.7 liters, maybe upto 5 liters? My project will be NA, I trying to go as light as possible. I plan on running ITB with showerheads to deal with the high rpm atomization. Looking for 120 per liter, a lofty goal I know. For that figure to be attainable, the heads most flow extremly well, from what I have heard the 3uz fe heads have that ability with suitable porting. Feedback please

Greg

Pity the UZ series only runs VVT-i not VVTL-i.

Also, if you are staying NA, don't increase the capacity.
More capacity = longer stroke and larger piston.
Both of these lower your maximum redline.

Keep it 4.0L, increase the compression to 11:1 with custom piston, 11mm lift cams, long duration, ported heads, ITB's, extractors, and you will be close to 120hp/litre.