97 runner 3.4L 4x4 to 1uz or 2uz thread and info

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

jmt2404

Ok guys I am new to the site and have a few questions. I have been doing some research on this swap for some time now but just now getting serious about it. I am still learning and still am not where I would like to be knowledge wise before I take on this swap. I am looking into this swap because my current engine has a number of problems with it and I don't trust it (long stupid story). I have searched around but I haven't found a runner that has swapped a 3.4 out for a UZ motor, so thats why I am starting this one. Here is what I have now.

97 4runner limited 4WD.
3.4L (out of comision)
automatic tranny (not sure what model it is)
3" toytec lift (no body lift)
285/75 duratracs
tundra brakes
dual electric fans

There is much more to it but I figured thats the basics that you might need to know.

My questions are:

1) Which engine is best for offroading? 1uz or 2uz?
I drive mostly pavement and don't do alot of hardcore offroading
2) What transmission options do I have in order to keep my 4wd?
Push button 4wd like I have now L and H options would be great.

Attachments

• IMAG0016.jpg
    IMAG0016.jpg
    200 KB · Views: 10
Right this calls for a great big fat rum... While I answer it :D