1UZ FE into Jaguar series 2 .. Help !

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Jim G

Hi, I am a newbie on this forum, first post !

I have just bought a 1977 jaguar Coupe ( same as series 2 but two door) with no engine or gearbox , and I have a 1996 Lexus LS400 complete car which has failed its MOT test, so I was hoping to do an engine and trans swop into the Jag ,could anyone here tell me any mechanical problems that I may encounter, it seems that at the very least I may need a different sump (the rear sumps are very rare here in the Uk I fear) or is there anyone on here who has done this swop already ? I am an electronics / electrical engineer so hopefully will be Ok on that side of things,

So an XJC? I love these things and will own one one day for sure....probably a Coyote or LSx for mine as the little 4 litre doesn't quite have the torque for such a heavy car....not if you want it running 12s anyway ;)

You'll find this forum pretty responsive. Treat it right and it will pay back in kind :)

Welcome Jim, and I'd second Justen's comments. Beautiful cars and what a great platform for a swap.

We do love our 1UZ's here, but the majority of swap threads also include some sort of forced induction as well, unless the engine is going into a smaller, lighter car than the 400 series Lexus it came out of.

No doubt a stock 1UZ and tranny would get your coupe moving along at a "stately" pace, but you might find yourself wanting a bit more than that.

If it'll take the 4.2 6 pot or the 5.3 V12 you may find the sump will clear the subframe anyway as there is a fair old distance between the subframe and the bulkhead. Any chance of some pics?

Dan

1UZ FE into jaguar XJC ( XJ6 coupe)

Photos of car as purchased, just also bought a jaguar series 3 MOT failure for the trim etc,