Finally Bought a small Mig welder

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

striker

Hey all,

Yesterday was treat myself day, because the summer has been lousy and I just needed to spend some money which would have normaly gone down the fillercap on the striker.

so I bought an older cebora Mig machine 125apms which had been converted to run gas. it was in pretty bad shape but a day of fidling with the wire feeder and the gasvalve + making a new side cover because the old one wasn't there, I was finaly ready to do my first practice this evening.

I have very little experience in welding myself, so I did a few tests on 3 pieces of round 4301 steel tube 1.5mm wallthickness I had lying around. tell me what you think. if it's ok I can finally start on the SC mounts for the engine.

here's the machine
a_251.jpg

here's the welds
the left one is the first try and the right one is the second with a little more wire feed which made it sound the way I normally hear my friend doing it, a sort of "crispy" is that right? I cleaned the right one with a wire brush
I had the current on low mode, but I don't realy understand the gas meter, I turned it up some and the welds don't look poreus so it's probably ok, can you have to much gas?

a_252.jpg

Grtz Thomas

u want gas flow around 14l/min
the welds look ok for a amature :)
u were right in upping the wire speed to a crispy sound
u will need your setting higher for engine mounts
as the plate will be heaver and u wont get good fusion on a low setting like u did with the 1.2 stuff

Thanx for the tips!

engine mounts will be made out of 4mm steel so if I do a weld at both sides of the material I would be able to get good penetration on the High mode. if thats a good way of welding (???) I willl try that first and if it's not good enough I can now at least tackweld everything up in my own garage and then take it to a good friend with a big-a** welder, if needed