Which Cams ?

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

elliotaw

I'm at the stage now with my engine build up that I'm ready to fit some cams.

The engine specs :-

lightened 10:1 forged ross pistons
Heads been ported and polished
New manley race valves. +1mm exhausts
Uprated camshaftshop valve springs

I will be running an aftermarket computer and making up a performance header and exhaust system.

I intend on fitting a full set of new billet camshaftshop cams, but I have no experience with cams and need help choosing which one to go for. I spoke to their tech guy a while back and he didnt know if the engine would have enough vacuum for the transmission if you run a very hot cam ?? Anyone have experience with this ?

I dont want an engine that runs rough on idle, but on the same note the car wont be used for everyday driving.

Can anyone offer any advice ?

Elliot

I can run numbers through EAP if it'll help and give you a rough idea, but you'd best talk to the guys where you're buying it as they'd have real world experience.

do you want torque or a dyno hero? What size extractors (primaries and secondaries) and exhaust are you looking at? how far has the heads been ported, and is it both intake and exh? do you have a tq or hp goal?

I'll try to help based on virtual dyno figures - but, *insert usual disclaimer here*.

Thanks for the help rivmaster...I called kelford yesterday and had a long chat, went through the engine specs etc and we decided to go for something close to their 207-T1 cam set listed on their webpage :-

http://www.camshaftshop.com/camshafts/view/46/lexus-camshaft

I know very little about cams, so I hope it will be a good choice. My only concern is the amount of vacuum loss for the transmission and brake boosters. Time will tell....

Elliot

I'll crunch the numbers today and post the results for sh1ts and giggles.