Flex-hone or pay the pros?

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Pilk

I picked up my 2UZ short block last weekend and start the tear down this weekend. I'm going to have to decked professionally, but for the cylinder hone I keep seeing the Flex-hone product. I've never used one before and wonder if it's really all that it's cracked up to be. A professional hone will be around $200 on top of the deck and cleaning. But it looks like I can get a flex-hone for $30-50. That's a very significant savings. Plus I just like doing what I can myself. My goal is too boost this motor so I don't want to risk damaging the sleeves. Any anyone used this on a UZ? Any experience with this product at all? Other input?

Pay the pros.

A full rebuild is several thousand dollars and $200.00 is neither here not there in the scheme of things but it may mean a full rebuild later if it isn't right.

Are you planning on having the prop check the bore for uneven wear, oversize or ovalness?

I would vote for paying the pros as well.

I've had recent experience with the FlexHone on an aluminum block engine, with wet aluminum liners, and it left tracks on the top flanges of the liners, which I wasn't expecting, or at all pleased with.

Brush Research are very clear about keeping the FlexHone rotating while inserting & extracting it from the cylinder bores, so on insertion, the balls will tend to beat up the deck of the block. So if you opt to go this way, make sure you have an old head gasket in place to protect the top deck. YMMV since you have an iron block 2UZ.

I would also recommend you "break in" a new FlexHone on a piece of similar sized pipe, as the balls of a brand new FlexHone tend to "shed" some of their abrasive. This shedding will dissipate after 20-30 strokes.