Cobber's Cobra

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Cobber

Well 2 weeks holiday has seen a good start to the Cobra project. I have been collecting parts for nearly 2 years now but with no time to do anything with them due to work commitments progress was very, very slow. I realy must give up my day job.

Here are some pictures of the project so far.

Front and rear suspension are from a Jaguar XJS 3.31:1 power lock diff, supercharged 1uz mated to an R154 box.

Fuel and oil system are the next jobs to be done.

Many thanks to the people that helped me get this far, but a special thanks to:-

Brett (Cobra) it's your fault I got bitten by the 1uz cobra bug.
Dave (lextreme) without this site I would have probably ended up with a boring old Ford 351 or worse.
Andrew (Richwood) SC manifold and technical help.
John (CribbJ) Always a quick answer to anything technial.

The body shell is just for show, all of the strength is in the chassis. It has not been on the scales yet but should be around 1,100 kg wet (2,400 lb in old money).

Not as light as I would have liked but it should still be fun.

1100kg ain't too bad though...my celica is 300kg on top of that and still a major handful on it's way to a 3.7sec 0-100kph. You are going to have a real beastie on your hands.

looking very sweet BTW

Really nice Andy, how about some shots of the engine?

I'm with Justen; that's going to be a real handful! Have you considered putting in any traction control or are you keeping it simple?

Cobber,
It looks as though it is coming together nicley. When do expect to have it finished? As you said it will be fun. I have n/a 1UZ Cobra with R154 gearbox with a 4.11 diff and it is fun so with the extra hp your have it will be more fun in a scary way.

Warren

Here are some pics of the engine.

Traction control would be a nice option, these cars swap ends real quick with too much loud pedal. I think I would need to upgrade the ecu etc.