Another Power Steering Pumb Prob

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Kezza

Hey guys... Yeah another faulty pump on our much loved 1uzfe...

I got this uzz30 matter of weeks ago. 8 year service history came with it... was well surprized how nothing had been done the pump yet. 190k on clock.

Because of this i've been watching it very very carefully... 2 mornings ago i started it cold and a bearing like noise is coming from it. It still works ok although afew small Vibrations comes through the wheel...

Would i be correct in thinking that with this bearing going it will be putting extra pressure on my seals.... I do car audio for a living so i really want to keep my 14Volts, with this alternator. :)

What do you guys think is the best way of going??

2nd hand Pump? (Maybe to get this problem again...)
Seals/Bearing from my Toyota Hookup and do it myself? (virgin with P/Steering)
Buy some gym weights to harden my arms up 2 go without s/pump?
Handle the noise because it wont make the pump leak..?

Thank you very much for any reply.

Kezza.

Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Thanks for the reply m8.

Is this noise the common problem with these.. ? In other words, is the the start of the 'leaking problem'? No one from what i have read has said anything about noise when the pump leaks.... ??

Edit* Will reving my car up hurt the pump more!? (Clutch in pump?)

you may have another problem, i replaced my power steering pump with a new one, and guess what, the same noise. Look into checking the solenoid on your steering rack.

WDoherty said:
you may have another problem, i replaced my power steering pump with a new one, and guess what, the same noise. Look into checking the solenoid on your steering rack.

Thank you for the post.... You've put a great little spin on my problem!!