1UZ into a '83 NA porsche 944?

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Phil Vollmer

Hi guys,

Newby here, but I have wanted to put a v-8 into a 944 for a long time, but I always wanted something a little more exclusive than a Chevy 350. How is your project progressing?

Hi Guys,

Another Newbie here!

I too am interested to know how the 944 swap is going as I joined specifically to research the same project.

In addition can anyone confirm the 1UZ size. I read else where it is a 650mm cube, yet someone on here posted it is a 700mm cube? It is important as the 944 only has about 700mm clearance so it will be tight. Yes the 944 has had Small Block Chevy conversions which fit, however these pushrod motors have much smaller and narrower heads as they don't carry the complex valvetrain that the 1UZ does.

Cheers all.

Mark (UK)

yeah i know how that is... sometimes i wish the 1uz was a 60 degree V instead of the 90... would sure make it alot more friendly for conversions....

The lenght from the gearbox flange to the front of the fanbelt pulley is 67 cm, the lenght from the gearbox flange to the front of the thermostatic housing is 71 cm.

It is also 67 cm wide over the valve covers. The stock exhaust manifolds is a tight fit, they are narrower than the valve covers.

Regards

Trond

PS: The engine in the 944 leans at an angle, so I think the Lexus should fit without a problem, ref my Sierra conversion.

944 conversion

Hi Guys, the 944 uses the Audi 016 gearbox with a torque tube attached to the front of it, im not sure where the clutch ends up, the gear set is similar to 016 audi but with better ratios , have alook at posts on gt40s.com there has been disscussions on that topic. also some ratio info here http://www.2gmotorsports.com/trans_gears2.pdf

Regards
Lambo

MARCO said:
GO TO
http://www.pelicanparts.com/944/944_parts/944_83-85/Pic17.jpg
THIS SHOWS YOU THAT IT SHOULD BE AN EASY EXCERSIZE.

HOPE IT HELPS.
Cheers Marco, that link was bloody handy.