1UZ engine sump conversion plates

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

elliotaw

Hi, this is my first post to the forum, but I have to say that it is a wealth of knowledge and experience.

I am just in the process of fitting a 1UZ into my 1981 Ford Capri. It just squeezes into the engine bay with the sump and intermediate plate removed.
I needed to fit a rear sump conversion kit so went through the normal channels to find what was available and the only so called 'kit' I could find was a flat plate made from 20mm thick aluminium which bolted onto the bottom of the engine and then a sump from a donor car could be fitted to make it either forward, middle or rear sump.
Looking at the design I can see two major design flaws. Firstly the flat plate did not allow use of the bottom bellhousing mounting positions which the standard intermediate plate uses. I am no expert but not to use the full mountings around the bell is not a good idea and I can see cracked bell housing sindrome ahead. And secondly, the conversion plate was designed such that it would hinder oil flow from the top of the engine to the sump as there is metal directly under the tubes which run vertically through the block around the outside of the engine. And on top of all that the price tag of $500 Australian.

Being a mechanical engineer I made up a precision drawing on Autocad and have had a few plates made to my own design.
I have had them made from 6mm stainless steel, and they are designed such that you will have to fabricate your own bottom sump section. But I have included plates to be welded to the rear of the plate to make full use of the lower bellhousing bolts and also a very neet fitting inspection plate for the torque converter bolts.

I'm sure there may be other options already available out there, but if anyone is interested I can supply the whole kit for nearly half the price tag of the crap aluminium ones.

Elliot

hi eliot, welcome to the site..