1UZ Flywheel particulars for RX8 gearbox

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Biggles_me

Hi guys, Never been here before, but I now own a 1UZ on a pallet and I hear you guys know your stuff! I have done a search but couldn't find an answer to this specific question.

Said 1UZ is going in an MX5, with an RX8 gearbox. I know that might seem strange, but I'm doing this as cheaply as possible, and an RX8 gearbox is a hundred quid in the UK. Even if it was a different box my question would stand.

I'm not an expert, this is a general question as well as a 1UZ question. I gather there are a couple of different Toyota flywheels that can be made to fit the 1UZ, but what do I do about a clutch? I'm imagining you need to use a pressure plate for that particular flywheel, but then a clutch disc that will fit that pressure plate and have the splines for my gearbox? and as for clutch height, would that be handled by the thickness of the adapter plate?

There is a company in Poland who make a flywheel specifically for a 1UZ to RX8 gearbox but it's quite expensive, and as I said this is to be as cheap as possible, I'm making pretty much everything else myself. The flywheel they sell puts the contact surface quite a distance away from the ring gear, which makes me wonder how on earth you would do it without buying a special flywheel.

I know that BMW boxes are popular for bolting to 1UZs, but without buying a special flywheel, how are you supposed to get a clutch to work, and how do you figure out what that clutch is so I can apply the same technique to my RX8 box?