HOW MUCH PSI FOR 500WHP?

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

basslover911

Hey guys,

How much psi is needed for these 1uz engines to get a good 500hp (which is what the stock internals take right?).

Also, what do you need to replace in order to go higher (not that I want to, but just curious; like 700-800hp).

Thanks!

That's a fairly broad question... the amount of boost needed to generate a certain amount of power depends on tons of factors (altitude, temperature, etc).

I'm no expert, but I can say that cooler air allows for better combustion, meaning that it would take less boost to generate more power with an intercooled setup than with a non-intercooled setup, or even less boost by geographic area. At sea level it might take 15psi and at 6000 ft, it could take 20psi (again, I know next to nothing about the subject overall).

The point I'm trying to make is that there is simply no precise measurement of how much boost it takes to generate 500 horsepower. Even if you could derive a formula of what amount of boost should generate at given temperature, elevation, humidity, with given displacement, perfect AFR, etc, it'd still be different than a real-world measurement.

With the VVTI it is about 15 psi intercooled, but I wouldnt try for 500rwhp with the stock engine.

Look at a compressor map.

50 pounds per minute mass flow is right around 500hp.

Notice that 50 pounds runs from very low to very high PSI (boost)

Mass flow is just that MASS FLOW.

If you improve the flow of an engine (better ports, manifolds, cam timing, etc) you will flow more mass at any give pressure.

The 98+ VVTi engines flow more than the 90-97 engines. So, it will take more pressure on an older engine than the newer engines to make your goal.