Results of mods on SC400

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

jibbby

I have been upgrading my 1992 SC400 for a few years and would like to share the results of all my mods...

:headbang: Precision Dragon Torque Converter - I immediately noticed a huge improvement with throttle response from a dead stop... 0-30 mph speeds were dramatically increased.... Very responsive off the line... With the torque being transfered to lowend the topend suffers a bit...There is a give and a take.. At high rpm's the car becomes slightly sluggish... To gain back the topend that is lost I would say changing out half the exhaust system to high flow will bring it back to what it was... Driveability remains the same....One of the best mods I did...$1200 installed

Apexi piggy-back ECU - While the 10hp or so is gained and felt by allowing the stock ECU to put out increased fuel and air mix to the engine, the downside is you may notice a small hit at the pumps...Helps with tuning but I did have a malfunction with this Apexi piggy back ECU...Another brand should may considered for those interested in this mod... $400 installed

:headbang: Exhaust mods - Replacing the heavy oval stock mufflers with light weight and super high flowing straight thru (Megan N1 racing) stainless steel mufflers was impressive...I immediately noticed an improvement in power at higher rpm's and increased exhaust noise...I was pleasantly suprised with the difference made over stock .....To compensate for the increased noise levels (2) high flowing stainless steel resonators were installed on the rear exhaust section..That cut the noise down in half.. $220 installed

Exhaust mods - Replacing the main center Catalytic Converter and Y pipe to high flowing also made a noticeable difference at higher rpm's to my suprise... I installed the magnaflow 2 into 1 high flowing cat with the built in high flowing Y design... Power at the higher RPM's were clearly noticed... $150 installed