93 sc400 blowing smoke out of pcv and elbow

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Erik Sawyer

hey guys, I have a 93 sc400 that is supercharged. I’m a mechanic so I get some smoke coming from here is normal, but this is an extreme amount of smoke. Oil leaks out of cold air intake when I shut it off. I have to add a quart of oil every 50 miles or so. I have seen many threads on this topic but I think this is an extreme situation. The only thing I can think is the rings are shot and sc is dumping boost into crankcase. But then I read these motors are indestructible. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks fellas!

How long have you been running the Supercharger?

What sort/brand of Supercharger?

What pressure does it run?

A picture or two would help.

Not sure what brand of supercharger it is, or what psi it is running. I bought the car with it on it. I have owned 2 sc400’s prior to this one. I can’t dowload pictures on here for some reason, says file to large. I’m beginning to think I have a cracked ring or a hole in a piston. Car runs rough until I hit 2k then it smoothes right out. I swapped over my fuel pump, headers, cat back exhaust, injectors and rail from my old car. Car flies when it’s right, now it’s hard to keep it running.

If I was in your situation I'd do a compression check to see which cylinder or cylinders was down on compression.

The spark plugs will also tell you which cylinder is burning oil.

A cheap borescope would allow you to have a look in each cylinder without lifting the head.

I think you may find it easier and cheaper to source another long block and swap your accessories onto it.

I have another motor out of my other sc. is it really difficult to put pistons and rings in these motors? I’ve done motor work on Chevrolet’s mostly. I have read that these engines are impossible to work on. I planned on rebuilding this motor this winter but if they are that hard I might leave it alone.