Newer Hiace V8 Conversions

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

JZH

Hi, I'm the owner of a 2013 Hiace H200 van (3.0 turbo diesel, pic below) and I'm trying to determine if a V8 engine swap is feasible. Why? Because I like my (almost unique, in Europe) van, but I don't like diesels and I don't like slow vehicles of any kind. (There's also the issue of the London Ultra-Low Emission Zone expanding to where I live in 2021, and diesels are bad, Bad, BAD...)

20170506_153036x.jpg

Many years ago I put a Chevy V8 into my Porsche 914, so it's not like I'm a total newbie at this, but that was also a very long time ago and I don't really want to spend several years working on this one.

I've been searching for some time, but all I've found so far is information about earlier versions of the Hiace van (pre-2005). My engine bay looks fairly similar to the earlier models, but I'm not really interested in trying something that everyone else has already declared to be "impossible". It is strange, though, that this chassis has been around for almost 15 years now, and there are so few V8 conversions? I've seen a short video of the one DKM Fabrication in NZ did some years ago (1UZ-FE), but I'm sure I don't quite have their level of fabrication skills.

Any information on H200 Hiace V8 engine conversions/swaps would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

JZH
London, UK

Okay, not much interest; fair enough, it is a van... :(

I was wondering if I'd have to fit a modern engine in order to be exempt from the London ULEZ, but I've tentatively determined that the age of the engine won't make any difference, as TfL will simply look at the DVLA V5C and assume that a 2013 vehicle would have met 2013 emissions standards (there are no emissions data on the V5C, probably because this was an import). So long as I have previously notified the DVLA that the engine capacity and fuel type have changed, they should make those changes to the V5C and I'll be home-free.