Master machinist; greenhorn mechanic

The 1UZFE EGR Delete Kit is available for sale here.

Mumf

Hello all,

I need help here. I own a 1990 ls400. Planning on making a mean sleeper out of it. I can make just about every part under the hood from scratch, but I have no idea where to start as far as the wrenching side if things go.

So here we go guys. A little patience will go a long way here. I have been reading from afar for a few years.

I am a master machinist who has made everything from nasty one off jobs to aerospace to gun parts. I have parts in missiles, machine guns, race boats, performance cars, etc. I am willing to fill custom orders for the community here at a discount.

I just need help getting out of the rookie stage as far as mechanic work is concerned. I would like to reach mastery understanding levels. Does anybody out there have any good study material recommendations? I finally have a basic understanding of engines. Transmissions, however, might as well be an alien spacecraft. I'm basically a dumb blonde when it comes to cars. As a machinist... This is painful.

I am now a proud member of lextreme. If the community here will help me master mechanic work I will give back in ways only a true old school machinist can. I can also program CNC so if I think of something cool I can Mass produce for us. I have unlimited access to a machine shop and odd tools.

In summary... Please help me see the light. I need books, prints, specifications, wire schematics, how do I program this beast, how do I take grandpa out of the transmission, etc. I want to understand this car down to every last nut and bolt. Who's got a PDF of the maintenance Bible? 300 bones for the set?!

Explain it to me like I'm five. There is a computer? What computer do I need to talk to the car computer? I hear chips are garbage. Refer me to books, link me to other posts, anything to help me get through the learning curve faster.